Home > music > Lateness and Music

Lateness and Music

I actually meant to make this post Tuesday, as music comes out on that day, and I think its cute to have daily themes LOL. Well I didn’t make it due to business, but more so a lack of material… Hip hop always slows down for the cold winter–that’s when the hot fire comes out so expect some nice albums.

Speaking of nice albums, “The Recession” Young Jeezy’s “new” is really sick.  I was a little late on Jeezy cause he came after the young/yung movement and I figured he was a really bad artist… Well he is, but he is extremely entertaining, plus he enjoys his craft a lot (it’s evident in his charisma and ad libs… YEEEAAAHHHHHHH). As a result, I am now a Jeezy fan to the core. Actually, Jeezy has gotten a lot better which is has been a blessing to hear because takes away from the terribleness and mixes lyrics with Jeezy’s normal hilarity.

I’m not a fan of too many of the beats on the album, so to meThe Recession” is pretty much carried by the lyrics. Aside: Jeezy is one of the realest rappers, while I don’t agree with what he does/has done, I don’t think I will have to hear about him being a snitch, corrections officer, or scholar. I have a fundamental problem with people who know better contributing to the detriment of the black community. Jeezy doesn’t know better but isn’t too bad an example… save the trapstar image(HAHAAA). About eight songs were super unpolished and lacked the full development of the professional production of Don Cannon, Drumma Boy, J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League or Shawty Redd. I love  My President is Black produced by Tha Bizness and is the only beat that I like not made by any of the aforementioned producers. All in all, an above average album from an average (at absolute best rapper)… I’m happy.

On to the actual music. Note: If you see underlined text there is a download or streaming link to hear the music! (So also the above,  My President is Black is streamable.)

T-Pain has a “new” track featuring Ludacris Chopped & Screwed. As my buddy Luebab, said “it’s one of those songs that after you listen to it once you have to listen again.”

Saigon lost me after he did the Letter P freestyle back in 2005, but he has a track called C’mon Baby which he remixed with Jay-Z. The beat is insane and Jay kills it. It is not new but most people probably haven’t heard it so check it out.

In more lateness, Kanye has premiered the video to Love Lockdown… I saw it about three days ago, but like I said, I wanted good material and couldn’t post it by itself. Plus who cares who is first and “trendsetting” anyways? Here it is:

Interesting video. I find it extremely suggestive LOL.

To answer the question who cares about being first and trendsetting… I do. Recently, I have heard a bunch of people bumping M.I.A’s Paper Planes track since Pineapple express, Swagger Like Us, and DJ Noodles “Paper Planes” mixtape… Well that song is over a year old, but to help you out, M.I.A has a new track featuring Jay-Z called Boyz so you don’t have to be late! You’re Welcome.

Switching to non-hip hop, Franz Ferdinand has a new song Lucid Dreams, and I happen to think it’s hot. If you remember them they did Take Me Out (not a streaming link) and had another album, with another single that I didn’t too much care for. I like these guys and their music, so take a listen.

Finally, more lateness! I love this video and the catchy little song… Justice D.A.N.C.E (fire):

I hope you’re happy I waited till Thursday, just for you. Much better music came from the delay and utter lateness of some of the music. Dang music posts are hard to do…

Salute

Categories: music Tags: , ,
  1. gabrieloneverything
    10/09/2008 at 2:10 pm

    The new T.I. CD is hot…

  2. 10/09/2008 at 5:45 pm

    this is good, i agree about MIA

    i didnt listen when she first cme out but i was sure that that song was out like last year then all of a sudden there was a video and stuff and i got confused…i thought i was just really late to seeing the video.

    props on the T-Pain and Jay songs.

  3. 10/09/2008 at 6:00 pm

    also, check out “hang me up to dry” by the cold war kids…

    and their song “old saint john” is good

  4. Shawn Franklin
    10/14/2008 at 8:07 pm

    Me and my friends definitely had a dance to Paper Planes (lame… I know) and it was my ringtone at end of fall semester/ beginning of spring. Its kinda of annoying how people are just now getting into it, because Swagga Like Us should be the sequel!

  5. Morgan, who else?
    10/14/2008 at 8:16 pm

    I L-O-V-E Lock Lockdown, it’s my favorite song right now despite the fact that I can’t find a good copy, but the vid is just plain out of sync with the song I think…

  1. 10/10/2008 at 9:02 pm
  2. 10/14/2008 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

