Home > politics, pondering, sports, thoughts > The best there is, the best ther was and the best there ever will be. Plus something else.

The best there is, the best ther was and the best there ever will be. Plus something else.

Now I normally don’t toot my own horn, but today I was like “hey why not? You’re at least pretty awesome,”–hence the post’s title.

Actually, I was at work and killing some time and randomly got on the topic of wrestling. I grew up a huge wrestling fan, so once I got started clicking down memory lane my productivity came to a halt. From Macho Man to Sting, I read up on some of the biggest icons in professional wrestling history. I also killed some time looking up some of the random guys that stuck out in my mind (i.e Virgil, Kamala, Ultimo Dragon and Prince Iaukea).

I was looking at the awards for the best wrestlers since 1991, adding a ton of time to the non sequitur browsing and when I came across Lex Luger. Once 6’5 265 lb. beast, Luger had a “spinal stroke” and is now a paraplegic weighing only around 170 lbs. My favorite wrestler ever Sting is now an evangelist of sorts but still makes appearances in TNA (he is one of the only big name wrestlers of his era to never wrestle for WWF/WWE… that’s loyalty). My nostalgic journey continued as I perused the profile of Macho Man who is now an actor and Scott Hall and his oozing machismo is still doing fallaway slams somewhere.

After a long and extremely random search, I finally got to Bret “the Hitman” Hart. Now Bret Hart never really was a wrestler I liked, minus the Sharpshooter, signature submission of Hart (which is a reverse figure four, just like Sting’s Scorpion Deathlock). Still, I respected his wrestling ability–even after I found out wrestling was fake. He made it look so real and it was clear he was a master of his craft.

Bret Hart was/is a cocky SOB, but could usually back it up in the ring. To me he doesn’t have the icon status of a Hulk/Hollywood Hogan, Ric Flair, Sting, Roddy Piper (LOL), Booker T or the Undertaker, but Hart has a loyal following and is always mentioned with the top tier entertainers, despite his bland character. Somewhere along the line he started to close interviews with the verbage “the best there is, the best there, ever will be.”

If you didn’t guess already, I didn’t/don’t believe this to be true. But that is a hell of a line, which I think it invented swagger. I will now use Bret Hart’s slogan as creed that I live by. No one on the corner have swagger like us… myself and Bret Hart that is.

Oh, apparently I need to clarify this: I am not, nor have I ever been a Muslim. Unlike Barack Hussein Obama, I will say that if I were a Muslim it shouldn’t be a problem. I am not mad at anyone that has asked me about it, in fact I appreciate that you asked me because apparently several individuals have been telling people that I was a Muslim without even talking to me about it. That is weak stuff… but again, if I were a Muslim what’s the big deal? As long as I don’t hurt anybody or force my religion upon someone I am OK.

In my column Tuesday, I stated that my biggest beef with Barack comes from the fact that when he denies being a Muslim he stops there and doesn’t take the opportunity to educate the electorate…

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.”–First Amendment, Bill of Rights.

HMMM… smells like education and this blog isn’t written by Pink Floyd. If that ain’t enough here is an article from The Huffington Post that cites a quote of Jefferson about Congressman Keith Ellison, a Muslim who swore on Thomas Jefferson’s Quran. An excerpt from the article:

“As Jefferson wrote in 1802, ‘religion is a matter which lies solely between man and his god, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legitimate powers of government reach actions only, and not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof, thus building a wall of separation between church and state.'”

TJ, one of our principle founding fathers (slave owner that opposed slavery…go figure) understood that there is no place for religion in politics. What happens now is as it did then–Right-winged politicians garnering support through fear tactics. Even I had a conversation with my mother and she was having some doubts about whether or not Muslims holding public office… it has extended that far (LOL @ even).

Today I was wearing one of my Barack shirts and encountered a former co-worker of sorts. She said “tell me you didn’t come in here with that shirt on.” After that remark, I knew it was going to be ugly. This conversation is an example of when I choose to listen and try to understand prejudice.

This lady finally had the notion that Barack Obama was a Muslim dispelled just a little while ago… but she still kept linking him with terrorists. Funny thing is she didn’t have the facts right even about the smear tactics of McCain and Palin. What this proves is some Americans wallow in ignorance and the Republican Party, which encourages such garbage, is ridiculous.

I think that’s enough for today…947 words. Gosh! Nobody has that long of an attention span.

Salute

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

