Home > politics, thoughts > The beginning of the end!

The beginning of the end!

It is just a matter of time before Barack Hussein Obama is the president of the United States. Whether or not you believe he will is qualified or the right man for the job… it’s gonna happen. The historical nature of this election will resonate worldwide, as the American people in a majority will speak out against the status quo.

One of the things I am almost happy to see is white America being upset about the results. For too long minorities, specifically blacks have had legislation, policies and political and social practices meted out by majority groups that often neither considered or cared about the goals of those other than themselves. That said, I’m not happy to see a large portion of white America upset because it shows how far we have to go. Let me say this though, I live in a pretty upper middle/upper class neighborhood, and when I went to the polls this morning, I was the only black person at the polling location, And I was there damn near an hour. But my district turned out blue for Barack, so here’s a little evidence it’s not all bad in white America.

Sidenote: I live in Kentucky, but I am a Washingtonian to the core. We got it right up in the Pacific Northwest, now all we need to do is get rid of the extremely overly radically liberal regime that let the Sonics go! Seriously that is inexcusable and I may be forever miffed about that!

Also, I am beginning to prep myself to engage in politics, and most of that comes from seeing the success of Barack Obama. What I mean by that is there is an example of what to do and a model of how to learn, approach issues, and model oneself as a man. I have a politician I can Identify and emulate to some extent, that is probably the most important value in this election for me. I literally am the happiest person about this, and will continue to demonstrate this through hard work and dedication to something bigger than myself. The movement doesn’t stop here. Barack has led us to the promised land and now we have to take advantage of his pioneering accomplishments just like he has done with those who preceeded him.

If you frequent the blog, you know that Young Jeezy is becoming one of my favorite rappers… this isn’t because of his skill level, but rather his perspective, point of view and perfect picture painting of what the common people are going through. I think he needs to name his next album “Nostradamus”, “The Oracle” or “The Prophet because he definitely has accurately predicted the happenings of the last few months.

He named his album “The Recession” which accurately predicted the economic turmoil we were going through before we even knew it. He then came out with a song called My President is Black… hmm. Finally, he didn’t make a prediction, but he left a promise that will most likely represent which black America will do in some capacity if something happens to Barack: “Ya’ll touch him, WE ridin'”. I know I will be out at the least protesting and raising political hell if God forbid something happens to Barack… since you’re here download My President is Black and hear it yourself!

I have been watching the political coverage today mostly on CNN, and I will say they did a good job of bringing all the stories of the election full circle. My favorite by far of the day was then they got that bum Joe the Plumber on. This man perfectly represents how Republicans trick the people. What do I mean? Well he is running around talking about the principles of Obama’s tax plan, and it won’t effect him (he made 40K in 2006 and I doubt he’s got that much of a pay raise in the economy we’ve had the last 2 years). On top of that he owes back taxes and has an outstanding bill with a hospital. I applaud the fine journalist that brought all of that into the picture, because for some strange reason those who are parading Joe around like he reps what “real” Americans deal with.

One interesting thing brought up was how much this should turn the tide of inequality. It was brought up by Bill Bennett who believes that there are no longer excuses for the institutional problems that blacks cite. Believe it or not, I have not formulated an opinion about this. I would say it is not true, but the reality of the moment and the hope that people have to now overcome institutional discrimination may well provide a heavy counterbalance to what we have fallen victim to in the past.

I wonder… but who cares cause:

MY PRESIDENT (OFFICIALLY ON JANUARY 20, 2009) IS BLACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let the tears commence! It is really real!

att00002

Salute

  1. cappymorgan
    11/05/2008 at 11:12 am

    If you heard it live, I wouldn’t worry about it. It was just the transcript of Obama’s speech last night. I had to post it because it was phenomenal and I wanted those who missed it to at least be able to read it.

    and as for that word, yes I had to spell it phonetically. Its about the only way I can stand to see it.

  2. gabrieloneverything
    11/06/2008 at 6:38 am

    You and your love of Jeezy. Oh well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

