Delayed Revisited

That post I wrote last a little while ago entitled Delayed came a little early. I need to take that break right about now. More than likely this blog break will end before anyone even notices, but I wanted to give a heads up to my loyal readers. Check this out in the meantime:

Tarik Light. It has all that music stuff I won’t post because of time/perceived dislike of Wayne

As of now I have no motivation and instead of trying to fix it right now, I’m going to step away for a few moments.

I am pretty much coasting through life (not in a good way). I’m not dying, I don’t have the mob after me for money, and surprisingly there isn’t really a big uncontrollable situation bringing me down into a deep dark depression (even if there were I wouldn’t care to share). I just kinda need some time to do something or other, meaning I have to get my “me” back. I wanted to say swag, but if there has been an overused term needing to die more than swag/swagger, I don’t know what it is.

My hiatus did not come without cause as yesterday, I was thrown over the edge in the worst way.

I don’t watch much TV regularly, and what I do watch I hold sacred. The Boondocks, South Park, Life on Mars (which got canceled a month after I started watching), sports, Rock of Love, Sports Reporters, Pardon the Interruption, Around the Horn, WWE Raw and maybe one or two other programs I am missing are of the utmost importance to me.

Heroes was left out of that list because it is the only show that I have to watch live. I don’t mind catching a late episode of Kenny being killed or the girls fighting over Bret Michaels as long as I eventually see it. Heroes, HAS to be viewed at 9 pm eastern or I am just not right.

I didn’t watch heroes till about 10:30 after I downloaded it. That wasn’t the problem, ’cause I watched Tropic Thunder during the Heroes timeslot after I got some much needed groceries…

For whatever reason, people love ruining stuff for me. Being that I am a patient person, I generally for things to happen, come out, be released, debut, etc (except with music, gotta hear it as early as possible). While I was checking out at Kroger the cashier guy was being pestered by the annoying bagger for conversation. The bagger was a hardcore nerd, and in the short time I was in line the topics jumped from Final Fantasy, to Halo, Warcraft and the Heroes.

The bagger asked the cashier if he watched Smallville, by this time the shopper in front of me had finished and I got in the line. I have a particular disdain for the way comic book heroes have been portrayed, even though I watched the first 4 seasons religiously, because the direction was actually interesting and fresh, however inaccurate it was. I offered my 7 cents, and expected that to be that… very few people trade blows with me in an argument and random strangers is a minimal probability of wanting to test my verbal right hooks… and of course I was right, the nerd backed off.

I don’t normally discriminate against nerds, but in this case nerd needs ridicule. Apparently, he didn’t realize that there is a world going on around him and some people may want to shield themselves from the the show till they actually see it. What ensued irreparably scarred my night as the nerd proceeded to tell me that John Glover, was to play the father of Gabriel Sylar on that night’s episode of Heroes. Glover is known in the nerd world as the guy Lionel Luthor, father of Lex Luthor in WB’s/CW’s Smallville, which was very loosely based on the Superman concept.

Sylar stuntin like his daddy

Sylar stuntin' like his daddy

I know. That had nothing to do with anything, and really it was just a nice little story to fill some space and give you something to think about till next we meet.

Actually, there is a point. This is a microcosm of how people ruin shit for me, so please heed and make sure you dont do it to anyone. In this case it was a tv show, normally its movies people ruin  for me, i.e The Sixth Sense, The Happening, Titanic LOL. Occasionally, someone ruins a real life surprise, and every time I have the same reaction– WHY? Just let things be and exercise a little patience. Not knowing things can sometimes be nice!

Salute

P.S.-I’m sorry, I just don’t do well with consistency/commitment 😦

  1. Fatimah
    03/12/2009 at 1:26 pm

    Lol. I get really annoyed when people ruin things for me too… My sister did the worst thing to my cousin once and gave away a death of a critical Harry Potter character. I think she’s still resentful hahaha. Sometimes it takes a little something like that to put you over the edge, especially if you’re really looking forward to that show/movie.

    Hope you gain your motivation. I go through those slumps too (I go to the gym now.. I stopped for at least 2/3 months before then). I just decided it’s something I really want and it makes me feel better about myself, so I stopped making excuses and went after work (no going home first or it’s OVER).

    Same thing at work, I go through ups and downs. It happens 🙂 I just bought a new journal so I can start writing my thoughts out again (leading to poetry), bc that’s def something that I have slipped on.

    Anyhoo. My comment could have been a post 😉

    Don’t leave for too long!

  2. 03/18/2009 at 4:30 pm

    Well I’m sure you already know this but thanks for the comment. Too many people ruin stuff so I figured I wasn’t the only one.

    I sorta got my motivation but spring break hit and I dont really have any sense of immediateness to get things done so I have probably ended up worse than I should be.

    Journals are great ideas. I have tried, but I never stick with it and usually I am always stifled at what I remember from the day… and if you start another blog from posts I definitely would visit 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

