Home > news, people, sports, uk, updates, videos > Can’t say I didn’t see this one coming…

Can’t say I didn’t see this one coming…

Previously on WhatWouldWesleyDo: Kanye’s at it again

So if you aren’t familiar with the blog here is a little background for the first half of this post. The big news in college basketball right now is academic fraud being alleged against the University of Memphis, specifically in regards to Derrick Rose’s SAT scores. I reference the post …and hello Coach Calipari, because at the end I discussed some of the haze surrounding John Calipari and his recruiting. Tarrman weighed in via the Kernel and I also linked this story that talked about UK’s hesitance to hire Calipari right after Tubby left. Finally, I talked about a World Wide Wes (not me, yet) who is probably the reason Cal gets all of those players.

Update: Wall is a criminal, yeah its just a misdemeanor, but why is he doing B & E’sI need to stop being inflammatory, damn media! Actually it’s just a misdemeanor and he isn’t going to do any time, but still…

Update #2: Billy G wants his money, will he get it? Who knows, but his dirty laundry is gonna get aired out… and UK is holding that the memorandum of understanding is not a contract. I don’t think UK goes into this battle knowing they cant win, so we will see…

Like the title says, I can’t say I didn’t see this one coming… but not this soon. I figured it would be after John Wall left or in year three or four that the grimey  (I like the N.O.R.E. spelling) details would start to surface. Maybe the NCAA has something against Kentucky basketball these days…

OK. I’m gonna stop being inflammatory. From what I have read/heard via the four-letter network, Calipari and Kentucky do not look like they are in any danger of any sanctions. What this boils down to is something that happened under the coach’s watch that cannot be tied to him. It is resoundingly suspicious, especially considering while at UMass shady things happened under Calipari’s watch. Oh well, I guess we will just have to follow this one.

Part 2 stars my favorite NFL quarterback Brett Favre. I don’t feel like ranting so here is how I felt about Favre around this time last year. This time around I have backup in the form of Hall of Fame Minnesota Vikings quarterback Fran Tarkenton, who recently lashed out at Favre and his self-centered agenda. Here is the story taken from Yahoo!, but I’ll insert a few quotes from Tarkenton just in case you don’t feel like reading/clicking the story.

“I think it’s despicable. What he put the Packers through last year was not good. Here’s an organization that was loyal to him for 17, 18 years, provided stability of organization, provided players. It just wasn’t about Brett Favre. In this day and time, we have glorified the Brett Favre’s of the world so much, they think it’s about them. He goes to New York and bombs. He’s 39 years old. How would you like Ray Nitschke in his last year (playing for) the Vikings, or I retire, and go play for the Packers. I kind of hope it happens, so he can fail.”

That scathing assessment is absolutely what I would say if I had the platform Fran Tarkenton has, and I applaud him for standing up to the Brett Favre media machine. Interestingly enough, right after they showed that story on ESPN the talking heads called Tarkenton a grumpy old man… here is the video.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’m old (24) but not that old, and I feel the same way. But that’s neither here nor there. I guess I can adopt the Tarkenton way and root for it so he fails, rather than suicide upon signature of a contract. They need to stop making excuses for him!

In another quote about Brett Favre as a great quarterback:

“I think he has been a great flamboyant quarterback, but he has made more stupid plays than any great quarterback that I’ve ever seen. Look at his final game in a Packers uniform. He blew that game against the Giants. He’s playing against Eli Manning, I love Eli Manning, but he’s still not a great quarterback. He’s not Peyton yet, or Tom Brady. He’s just a guy. And they’re (Packers) are playing at home, and they’re in a tight situation, they went to overtime and he (Favre) throws the interception that allows them (the Giants) to come back and win the game. He has done that and driven his coaches crazy all of his career.”

I personally have high standards for quarterbacks, and only a select few NFL quarterbacks ever earn, my respect. Brett Favre had it, but his ridiculous attempt to cling to what little ability he has left is getting just slightly annoying.

That’s that. I refuse to work myself into a lather over Brett Favre this time.

Salute

Categories: news, people, sports, uk, updates, videos
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

