Home > links, news, observations, thoughts, updates > Are we too technologically dependent?

Are we too technologically dependent?

Previously on WhatWouldWesleyDo: Vanessa Hudgens FTL (for the loss)

Simple answer is yes, we are far too dependent on technology:

Twitter Down

Normally when Twitter is experiencing “technical difficulties,” or people are going ape crazy telling us things about their lives that simply aren’t important, you’ll see that lovely image to indicate that twitter is over capacity.

Twitter Down Alternate

Twitter Down alternate view... when get rejected before you even get to the line at the club.

When I woke up this morning, I checked Twitter to see if anybody had tweeted @wrob4343 on my phone. A little later on I opened up Firefox to check Facebook to see all of my new notifications and if any of my crushes on the low had gone single or updated their pictures or something.  Next was an update on blog stats along with the official “start my day off right moment” by checking out Twitter’s trending topics… Did I mention I was at work?

Well Twitter has been down most of the morning (since shortly after I checked the mobile app) and Facebook has been on the fritz like crazy. If you Google “Twitter Down” you’ll find a growing number of tech articles/blogs covering this major social network apocalypse.

I’ll admit, I spend the majority of my internet and it is pretty bad, but then there’s stuff like birthday’s, news and chatting that is actually useful. Oh well.

Salute

Update: Twitter was back DDos attack most likely the cause (I have no idea what that means), and then it died again. Facebook now good.

  1. 08/06/2009 at 7:17 pm

    Yes, we really are 🙂

  2. 08/09/2009 at 9:25 pm

    totally agree. I even “twitted” on twitter when it was back up how my mood changed all day b/c it was down….you should call it some type of “disability” or “addiction” lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

