Home > thoughts > Slaughterhouse is here!!!!!!!

Slaughterhouse is here!!!!!!!

Previously on WhatWouldWesleyDo: G.I. Joe: Can explosions and gadgets carry a movie?

Today sucks. Not going to go into specifics, but today is the worst day in a long time. I gotta get a lot done in the next few days so this may be my parting shot till next week. Hopefully it isn’t, but just in case be ready.

Slaughterhouse f/Nino Bless-Slaughterhouse (the song that started the movement, minus Nino Bless he wasn’t ready, yet…)

August 11th is Slaugust 11th for the release of one of hip-hop’s most anticipated album of the year (other than maybe Blueprint 3) by Slaughterhouse, aptly titled “Slaughterhouse“. The group is comprised of Royce 5’9, Joe Budden, Crooked I and Joell Ortiz. Here’s the group having a little fun with XXL:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

^^^^Gotta love subliminal disses at poorly done websites. LOL

Slaughterhouse-The One (The first single off the album)

The album is great. Borderline classic material. I say borderline classic material. But lets get you some info the group first. More info and tracks downloads after the jump.

Slaughterhouse-Onslaught (Second Slaughterhouse track)

So Slaughterhouse came out today which is great, and Joe Budden also released an EP of his own called “Escape Route”… it’s 12 tracks, so I would hardly call it the traditional EP. (Dude puts in serious FREE work for his fans, I have to let that be known… an album disguised as an EP is almost like how he releases albums disguised as mixtapes). Anyways, the other three-quarters-of-Slaughter lended Joe a hand with a track for “Escape Route”  and We Outta Here is a real slick track. Lyrically and flow wise they all went in, but Jersey’s finest absolutely annihilated the track.

Slaughterhouse f/MOP-Woodstock Hood Hop (didn’t make the album because of sampling issues)

People who know me, or those who can infer from the fact that I took time out of posting about the greatest hip-hop group ever to talk about Joe Budden, realize that I’m a Joe Budden fan. But I am also a huge fan of Royce since the Rock City, Death is Certain, Independent’s Day days. He is one of  Detroit’s best. As a solo act he has been one of those guys that has gotten a lot of respect from within the industry for his skill and ability to write, hence his alleged ghostwriting for several big named acts. Royce is also known for going bar for bar with Eminem, who last timed I checked was no slouch… but listen to the music and let that speak to you.

Slaughterhouse-Move On (The big long introspective track)

Now Crooked I and Joell Ortiz are relatively new to me. Crooked is a West Coast dude, and surprisingly I never listened to him. Admittedly I have an East Coast bias (biased against my own people… sad) when it comes to music and about the only music I have traditionally bumped from the Left Coast has been Xzibit, Warren G, Ice Cube and occasionally Snoop. Dude has crazy skill though and I’m kinda mad I’ve missed out. He is like the newer school of the West movement like the Game that may have that gang focused rap, but have the lyrical content to back it up against the best of them. Crooked’s flow and scheme are just insane and he will drop some crazy witty lines on you that have you goin’ crazy, and it’s not just hype or talk, just good music.

Slaughterhouse-Fight Club (Great song, with crazy concept)

Joell Ortiz is slowly growing on me, because of the group he is the most old school, in that it’s all about rap to him. Yeah he has is own individuality that sets him apart, but its less about the image and more about the craft. I literally would believe a story where if you posed a situation to Joell about choosing rap over anything else in the world he would choose rap every time. He did a mixtape where he covered classic hip-hop tracks, (Joell Oritiz Covers the Classics) which was definitely a treat. And again the music speaks for itself.

Slaughterhouse-Warriors (Off of Royce’s “The Revival EP“)

The issue that concerned most critics, both professional and amateur, about slaughterhouse was their ability to make songs and music that wasn’t just for the sake of. Well, after listening to the album for a solid week and a half I can say that didn’t happen. All four added their own personal touch to an album which was surprisingly crisp and clean. The phone call skits could have gone in favor of another track or two, but other than that I was very pleased with the effort.

Slaughterhouse-Wack MC’s (Battle rapping the imaginary MC)

For whatever reason Joe Budden stands out even when he isn’t doing anything. On the track Pray (It’s a Shame) Joe did nothing more than deliver the hook, a move that has received a fair amount of attention, but one that I love. Joe has made a living off of reflective tracks like Pray since he started the Mood Muzik series and for him to contribute to that would be too much. He also had his own skit which hit his personality dead on. I nearly died laughing when I heard it the first time.

Dont mind the hats apparently Joe and Royce got them mixed up and Joell decided he wouldnt rep NY LOL

Don't mind the hat's apparently Joe and Royce got them mixed up and Joell decided he wouldn't rep NY LOL

While the quality of the group is in the high skill level of its four parts, each member has their own weaknesses. The way the album was constructed Crooked I and Joell were put on a level playing field with Joe and Royce and the project really enhanced their talents. Joe had his moments, but definitely wasn’t at top game, probably due to all of his recent beefing… Royce came out about where Joe as far as shining to full potential, but top to bottom this was a great effort. Here’s the tracklist:

  1. Sound Off
  2. Lyrical Murderers (feat. K. Young)
  3. Microphone
  4. Not Tonight
  5. The One (feat. The New Royales)
  6. In The Mind Of Madness (skit)
  7. Cuckoo
  8. The Phone Call (skit)
  9. Onslaught 2 (feat. Fatman Scoop)
  10. The Phone Call 2 (skit)
  11. Salute (feat. Pharoahe Monch)
  12. Pray (it’s A Shame)
  13. Cut You Loose
  14. Rain Drops (feat. Novel)
  15. Killaz (feat. Melanie Rutherford & C. Brown)

I expected a whole lot of rapping for rappings’ sake, 8-minute tracks, bad beats, and forced chemistry. I still would have loved it, but I wouldn’t have called it great. Fortunately for me Slaughterhouse went nuts and put together a great album. The album is intensely balanced and focused, meaning nothing seems forced or wasted. I know I said I wasn’t a fan of the skits, but they just serve as a reminder to the respect the group gets from within the hip-hop world. You don’t normally see that. Just like you don’t normally see four rappers getting together to do not just a track, but an album. Slaughterhouse will definitely define 2009 as far as hip-hop goes.

Slaughterhouse-Microphone (my favorite song of the album… Alchemist)

Yep, I’m happy. Now all I need is a few of you and several others to go out and buy this album. I know Wayne, Kanye, Cudi and Drake are going to have the mainstream on lock, but let’s get some balance going. Support good content!


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: