Get that outta here

Previously on WhatWouldWesleyDo: D. Wade=dunk of the year!

So I apologize for missing even more time… I missed Bill Belichick ruining Randy Moss’s superb Sunday night performance, King Felix not winning the Cy Young and the release of Twilight 2 or whatever the F it is. … and then I still got the NBA Preview to do.

But to be quick I posted links and here’s my quick thoughts. Belichick did what he does, I don’t have a problem with it, but I’d rather see the Pats win, Zack Greinke was the best pitcher all year and his start was one of the all-time greats, and Twilight sucks, if you like it, so do you.

I like giving updates on where my time goes, so I’ll let you know my work at the Kernel is getting more serious. Not only are we having to work harder to compensate for the drop in journalism, but we are adding new stuff. Hopefully, I’ll get some writing done on our new sports blog BlueNationBlog and I’ll get more passion for what I’m doing.

The most recent controversy on campus is what has got me stressed out this time. I definitely can tell I’m showing wear and am succumbing to stress a lot more, and stuff like this doesn’t help. Especially with jackasses like this.

 

That's what we're dealing with

That picture accompanies the following column in the Kernel for Friday, November 20, 2009:

Be more thoughtful, see the bigger picture

Posted by Opinions on November 19, 2009 · Leave a Comment

wesmugBW

 

Column by Wesley Robinson

Believe it or not, I actually felt sorry for those affected by the tobacco ban — that is, until today’s protest.

As a non-tobacco using individual with a smoke allergy, that may seem farfetched, but the way UK has handled the ban has left me a little salty toward the whole situation. There’s just something about imposing a ban without any sort of compromise that rubs me the wrong way.

Don’t get me wrong, the campus-wide ban is better for the university as a whole, but UK should have implemented a strategic plan that looked at incrementally implementing a tobacco ban, with gradual steps and goals for reducing tobacco use.

It sounds sappy, but if campus is being pushed toward compliance, being provided the necessary resources, the larger collective success grows — instead of forming groups of angry individuals as Thursday’s protest displayed.

A very nice lady in the mailroom at the UK Hospital has shared her concerns with me about the ban more and more as doomsday approached and I could tell how serious the ban is to the smokers. But her outlook is more thoughtful and makes more sense than anything I’ve heard from the anti-smoking: “a cigarette isn’t worth my job.”

And she is right, it isn’t.

I want smokers to be selfish. Think about yourselves and stop fighting a ban UK was set on carrying out, and realize one cigarette, a pack or a lifetime of smoking is not worth one’s job, but it’s also not worth one’s education — in fact, it’s not all that important in the grand scheme of things.

Thursday, UCLA approved a 32 percent increase in its tuition over the next two years to counterbalance the huge budget-shortfall California is experiencing. Students revolted in a nationally covered protest.

Even though UK and Kentucky are in similar budget crises, somehow, I doubt there will be the same vigor to fight a perspective tuition hike as there was with the tobacco protest. Then there’s other student-relevant issues like health care and the failing economy we are preparing to enter.

There are several students who protested that will be active in many other meaningful causes, but the fact remains that issues that actually matter pose a huge stumbling for students.

Wesley Robinson is a Spanish senior. E-mail wrobinson@kykernel.com.

I wrote this on the fly, on a suggestion from our adviser Chris Poore. If you’ve been here a while, you’ll notice the mugshots are back. That’s more work on my end, but I guess it’s worth it. I wanted to put more in but we are really suffering space wise, so I have to use words at a premium. So I couldn’t talk about the great people who work all over campus and the wonderful things they do… some of them even participated in the smoking protest. But a lot of those faces came out just to protest that, and I just feel that’s done in poor taste. Overall, turned out OK though.

The Kernel also is jumping into Twitter pretty heavy, so you can follow News, Sports and my page, the Opinions page. So follow them. @KYKernelNews, @KYKernelSports and KernelOpinions.

I hope this was as enjoyable for you as it was for me.

Salute

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

